Wiki is up!

The wiki is now up that we will use to translate the communications coming out of Iran. For the present time, the only text on the wiki is a page from a samizdat newsletter being distributed among the Iranian protesters called Khyiban (Street). If you would like to help to translate immediately, please go to http://translate4iran.wikispaces.com/Khyaban+4.2 Please recall that you don’t have to be a Farsi translator or even a Farsi bilingual to help!  We desperately need help from English writers, editors, proofreaders, publication relations professionals, techies, geeks, and administrative personnel.  There is a role for everyone!  Please e-mail me at translate4iran {at} gmail {dot} com to let me know what you skills are and how you would like to help out.  For more information on this initiative, please click on About TIIP above or scroll down to see other posts.

13 Responses to Wiki is up!

  1. Yasmin says:

    I tried to translate the first article listed, and it didn’t work. I tried to click at the begining of the field, but I couldn’t actually enter it. Am I missing something?

    • translate4iran says:

      Thanks for your help. You have to first click the “edit” tab at the top right of the page. Then you will be free to edit. Please let me know if you have any additional problems. This is a beta version of our wiki, so I’m sure we will be ironing out many problems so your patience is appreciated. Thanks again for your help!

  2. Gene Venable says:

    My editing went fine. I have done everything posted so far.

    Should the public be told to visit this Wiki or will the results of our work be posted elsewhere? I don’t understand the big picture very well so far.

    I look forward to seeing further translations. Good work, translators!

    By the way, I don’t care if I am anonymous or non-anonymous.

    –Gene

  3. […] Mackey flags a new blog and Wiki page set up by a volunteer group to facilitate high-quality translations for the reform […]

  4. Nasser says:

    I can help with translation.
    I know farsi, french and english.
    you can contact me via email: nasserjavidi@yahoo.com

  5. […] Mackey flags a new blog and Wiki page set up by a volunteer group to facilitate high-quality translations for the reform […]

  6. Inna says:

    Hi–

    I used to work as a proofreader about 9 years ago. I don’t speak Farsi though, sorry.

    I may have about 2 hours per week–if work slows down maybe more but I don’t want to commit to more than 2 hours at the moment.

    Do you want me to e-mail you?

    Inna

  7. Delaram says:

    I just sent you an email saying I am ready for helping with translation. Please contact me through the same email address.
    Delaram

  8. Michael Mulholland says:

    I want to read the translated-to-english samizdat newsletter you mentioned. How do that?

    • translate4iran says:

      Michael: Thank you for your interest in our wiki. To read the newsletter, just go to our wiki at http://translate4iran.wikispaces.com at select “Khyaban 4.2” in the menu at the left of the page. This is just one page of a four-page newsletter — additional pages will be up soon. And the translation is not yet finished. But there is some interesting material that has already been translated into English.
      So please pass on the word about the wiki: http://translate4iran.wikispaces.com

  9. Derekp says:

    I think i’ve seen this somewhere before…but it’s not bad at all

Leave a comment